It’s Awkward When You Thank Me

Figaro and I are pretty much working together full-time now. I’ve adjusted pretty well to the comments we get but one in particular has been nagging at me. It’s one of those things that most people mean well when they say it, but it’s still a product of ableism. I’m never quite sure how to respond, I mean I have enough trouble dealing with social interaction as it is. I guess I’ll have to figure something out. I’m just not quite sure what that something is yet.

I get thanked all the time. Thanked for training a dog for those poor cripples, those unfortunate souls. It tends to leave me a bit flabbergasted. I guess it shouldn’t surprise me given that I look abled, most of the time. Still, people often find the grossest way possible to thank me. It doesn’t help that they’re completely overlooking the fact that I am one of those poor souls they’re talking about. I suppose that’s the double edged sword of passing privilege.

I’m still unsure what to do but hopefully I’ll figure something out.

2 thoughts on “It’s Awkward When You Thank Me

  1. The weird thing is that I run into this, too, and I have very visible disabilities. It’s like if people find out I’m training the dog, they go from assuming that the dog is for me (given to me by a program, free of charge, of course), to assuming I must be training the dog for someone else and telling me what an “angel” I am.

    Since my disabilities are obvious, I don’t have to struggle with deciding how much I want to reveal my disabilities (which can feel intrusive). When you also have trouble dealing with social interactions in the first place, that sounds very hard. I really am into creating fliers that I keep in my dog’s pack, and then when someone asks a question, I say, “I have a flier. Would you like one?” and shove it into their hand and flee.

    I hope you submit this to the July AD blog carnival!

Leave a Reply

