The 3rd Assistance Dog Blog Carnival

At long last, I welcome you to the third ADBC.

A big thank you to Sharon Wachsler. Without her, this carnival, let along this post, would not even exist. She not only did a great deal of work contacting bloggers, but also helped me get my plans in order.

There were many amazing entries from a number of bloggers. I found many brought me a fresh perspective on topics I had only previously granted passing thoughts. I am honored to host this carnival for this great group of people and I hope you will all enjoy the posts as much as I did.

I’ve separated the posts into a  few different categories. These are very loosely defined, but hopefully will be helpful.

The reactions of assistance dogs, retired dogs, puppies and non working dogs:

  • Cyndy Otty at Gentle Wit has a post about guide dogs dealing with retirement. She talks about the two guides she’s handled that are now retired, and covers the different responses they’ve had to retirement. Her post is titled Retiring Reactions.
  • Katrin, blogging at By My Side, brings us a story of James the assistance dog and his interesting experience in a zoo. Take a trip down to the post, Memory Lane.

The reactions of the general public, family and friends:

  • Kali at Brilliant Mind Broken Body has a moving post about how some folks feel entitled to the time, images and energy of assistance dogs and their handlers which looses sight of the entire reason these dogs are in public to begin with. The post, He’s not here for you is insightful and a must read.
  • L^2, writer of Dog’s Eye View, brings us Teach Them Well. I always enjoy L^2′s posts and this was no exception. The pitch prefect capture of certain obvious statements you end up hearing while out and about was a treat to read.
  • Jen, writing at Paws for Thought has written about reaction to her guide dog. Reactions to OJ was an enjoyable read and I enjoyed the contrast between the reactions of children and those of adults.
  • Kelley  who you can find at Life with Fur, brings us Dogs and family. The post is about foster puppies and I found it to be a fresh point of view.
  • Sam at Rasing Romero has posted Reactions To Romero. It’s about reactions to the puppy being raised and includes a favorite moment.
  • Andrea of  The Manor of Mixed Blessings wrote a post I wish was beamed into the heads of a grand number of ” dog people.” That informative post is Service Dog Etiquette for Dog Lovers. Due to some comments, a follow up, On Dogs and Shoes was also posted.
  •  The Pawpower Pack, writing at The Dog House, has a very unique post about along circulating myth regarding Dobermans. It is Reactions to Laveau’s Brain.

The reactions of handlers, trainers and puppy raisers:

  • Ashley at The CRPS Girl has just recently begun her partnership with her assistance dog. She writes about both of their first reactions to each other and her feelings before the match. The First Reaction: Assistance Dog Blog Carnival brought a smile to my face.
  • Patti Brehler, who writes at Plays with Puppies,  posts about meeting the new handler of the puppy she raised. I really liked the unconventional formatting of her post, REACTIONS: Meeting LD Mike’s New Handler.
  • Brooke of Ruled By Paws has a post up, Perfect For Me. It covers the choice of a school and dealing with the results of that decision.

Once again, a big thank you to everyone for submitting posts and I am very sorry about the delay on this post. Your posts lead me on a journey though so many emotions and I am grateful for all of them. We have great bunch of topics to read through and I know people will enjoy these writings.

If there is anything I’ve misinterpreted, misattributed or otherwise messed up, please don’t be afraid to comment. It’s been a wild week and I’m still not at my best.

14 thoughts on “The 3rd Assistance Dog Blog Carnival

  1. Thanks so much for doing this! I’m sorry it’s been such a rough time.

    I don’t think I see Karyn’s posts? Through A Guide’s Eyes? She did one about reactions to vaccines, I think, and the other was about her dog reacting to her.

    • thetroubleis says:

      Oh, goodness. I realized I was missing some posts, so I’ll be editing to add them ASAO. My apologies to anyone effected and thank you for pointing that out.

  2. I hope I’m not stepping on your toes by doing this, but I think you’re missing a few. (That’s assuming you didn’t choose not to use them intentionally.) I went and looked at the comments from the announcement, and I think these are the ones not included.

    I know you’ve been having a hard go, and hosting a carnival can be quite overwhelming, so if you meant to include these, just get to them when you can.

    I’m posting them in the comments to give people time to visit them until you’re able to modify the post.

    Here are Karyn’s that I mentioned in my previous comment:

    Through a Guides Eyes located at:
    http://throughguideseyes.blogspot.com

    Her posts for the ADBC are:

    Chimette’s Story: When Vaccines Go Haywire
    http://throughguideseyes.blogspot.com/2011/03/chimettes-story-when-vaccines-go.html

    and

    What I Feel, He Reveals
    http://throughguideseyes.blogspot.com/2011/03/what-i-feel-he-reveals.html

    Torie at The Average Blog By an Average Blogger — her post:
    The Third Assistance Dog Blog Carnival:Reactions To The Halty
    http://thebig-t.blogspot.com/2011/03/3rd-assistance-dog-blog.html

    Martha at Believe In Who Your Are (http://learninbabysteps.blogspot.com) submitted Reaction Time: http://learninbabysteps.blogspot.com/2011/04/reaction-time.html

    Katrin:
    Post: Memory Lane
    Blog: By My Side
    Link: http://asdbymyside.blogspot.com/2011/03/memory-lane.html

    Brooke at Ruled by Paws: at http://ruledbypaws.blogspot.com
    Her entry is here -
    http://ruledbypaws.blogspot.com/2011/04/perfect-for-me.html

    The Pawpower Pack at The Dog House: My entry is entitled “Reactions to Laveau’s Brain, and can be found here
    http://pawpower4me.blogspot.com/2011/04/reactions-to-laveaus-brain.html

    OK, I think that’s everyone. Like I said, I hope I haven’t stepped on your toes with this comment. Of course, you can always moderate it if there’s a problem.

    • thetroubleis says:

      No worries, not toe stepping is felt on my end. I believe I have everyone up now, and your comment was very helpful.

  3. [...] Here is the link! Check it out and have fun! [...]

  4. [...] completely other news, the third Assistance Dog Blog Carnival was put up last night and there are more than a dozen wonderful posts about “Reactions” from all aspects of [...]

  5. Cyndy Otty says:

    Thanks for hosting! :-)

  6. [...] Dog Blog Carnival use it since the first edition. (The third ADBC just went up last night! Check it out!) After that, L-squared commented on it, and we raised awareness, and everyone was so great about [...]

  7. [...] post is for the third Assistance Dog Blog Carnival (ADBC), which is now up! The Third Carnival Is [...]

  8. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for all your hard work. I really enjoyed reading these posts.

  9. For a week, I’ve been trying to leave comments at blogger blogs, and blogger keeps giving me error messages. So, if it’s OK with you, I’d like to just leave them here, and note which carnival blogs/posts they refer to?

  10. […] completely other news, the third Assistance Dog Blog Carnival was put up last night and there are more than a dozen wonderful posts about “Reactions” from all aspects of […]

Leave a Reply

